Welcome, 2017!

And just like that, another great year has come to an end. 2016 wasn’t just any other year for me, but it was a year full of epiphanies and enlightenment that completely changed the way I see my life and the priorities that I’ve set. It has been a year of contrasts – of highs and lows, of hellos and goodbyes, of blessings in disguise. Of finally appreciating my life, body, soul, and mind fully, and I couldn’t be any happier that things went the way it did. This year was a tough journey, and I got through it even tougher with my ever-loving and supportive family and friends by my side. You’ve been great, 2016. You’re definitely my favorite and the best (t h e BEST) by far.

Me and my family spent the holidays in Singapore – a very much awaited 12-day vacation in the beautiful (and squeaky clean) Lion City in the heart of Southeast Asia. On New Year’s Eve, we were amidst what it seemed like hundreds of people from all around the world at Marina Bay to watch the fireworks at midnight. It was our very first time to experience a New Year countdown in a huge and crazy crowd such as this, but I swear, it was all worth it the moment we welcomed 2017 with so much excitement and bliss along with everyone, “3… 2… 1…”. It was an amazing way to end an amazing year, and let me say, a very wondrous end it was indeed – I felt so blessed to witness such a sight with the most important people in my life. Last life lesson of 2016: “Endings can be beautiful, too.”

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
The beautiful and iconic Marina Bay Sands ❤

This was our view of Marina Bay Sands from the bridge beside The Shoppes that we stood on to wait for the fireworks. We came an hour early (after a long day of roaming around Orchard Road searching for my dad’s Apple watch series 2 Nike+, buying our food for Media Noche in Vivo City, and heading back to our suite at Marina Bay Sands to prep for the countdown) and despite that, there were already A LOT of people there that we had a slight difficulty finding a good spot. Left and right, the place was swarmed by people who seemed to have been waiting waaay earlier than we did. We couldn’t even get to the area we planned nights before to watch the fireworks (which offered a good view and had easier access to the metro as we were told it would be difficult to get home that night) since the way going there was too crowded already.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

After minutes of searching, we finally found a less crowded area (which soon become a really crowded one) with a great view of Marina Bay – on a bridge at the right side of The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands which headed to the Helix Bridge. The ArtScience Museum was right before us (the lotus flower-like building) which gave the incandescent display an even more magical touch to it.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetHappy New YearProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

When the fireworks and “Happy New Year!!!” greetings ended, everyone scurried their way to the nearest metro and taxi stand to get home. We were, with no doubt, tired and hungry, but adrenaline rush kept us going. The walk back to our room at MBS was such an adventure, we were laughing about it when we got back. Then, it was time for our Media Noche – the midnight feast!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Thank you, Thai Express! Bbq chicken, mango salad, and a forever family fave – Pad Thai!!!
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
New Year themed cupcakes from TwelveCupcakes ❤
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Cheers to a new year filled with love, success, good health, travel and happiness!

The first hour of 2017 was already an adventure for my family. I can’t wait for the rest!

More to come on our year-end vacation in Singapore! All from our dinner reservation at Ce La Vi in Marina Bay Sands for Noche Buena, our wild ventures in Universal Studios, shopping sprees in The Shoppes at MBS, breathtaking views in Singapore Flyer, all the way to our travel to Malaysia for Legoland!

Live, Laugh, Travel,
imageedit_24_9779193807

P.S. Yayy, first blog post! I’m so hyped that I FINALLY had the guts (and time) to fix my blog and actually post an entry. I’ve been contemplating on this for a very long time, switching from different blog hosts (I literally tried everything, the struggle is real, fam), deciding on a blog name, editing pictures to get the hang of it. Until I finally convinced myself that it was time I stepped out of my comfort zone and went for something I longed to do, share things I’m passionate about. New year, new possibilities, right? My mom (my sole inspiration) kept suggesting ever since that I start a blog, and just recently, I’ve been even more motivated by Filipina fashion/travel/lifestyle bloggers and vloggers (esp. Kryz Uy of thirstythought) to be as ambitious, out-spoken, and adventurous as they are. So I thought maybe a personal blog would be the start of my own journey. That’s why I got myself in front of my laptop, my heart beating out of my chest, excitement on the tips of my fingers, and I told myself: It’s about time, Andi. One step at a time.

P.P.S. Also, I might be blogging randomly about previous travels over the years. Paris, Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Egypt, Manama, just to name a few, so I hope you anticipate it!

Leave a Reply

